Good-bye Third Grade

GrtConMany of you know my grandmother Ellen LaBar was a teacher. She started out teaching in a one room school house and taught third grade for 18 years in Tunkhannock before she retired. She retired when I was in kindergarten so I was never blessed to be in her class, but I am so grateful she was my grandma. Just thinking of her as I write this brings tears to my eyes. Her faith in God and love of teaching had a profound impact on my life. It was because of her I decided to be a teacher. Marcus and Caroline were very young when she past away so most of their memories of her are from pictures. GrtPorch

Well we just completed third grade. This was my first experience of formally teaching my children. This year has been challenging. It is hard to separate parenting from teaching, if it is even possible at all. I need structure and Marcus and Cali know nothing else, so I chose the Calvert curriculum. As I look back this year is filled with so many milestones. They mastered multiplication facts, learned long division, conquered cursive writing and gained a true appreciation for reading. I can see why my grandmother spent so many years in third grade. It is truly rewarding especially when you can guide your own children through it. 20130527-114453.jpg

Through our travels we gained ecological and historical views of the things we learned in text books. I feel we have had the best of both worlds; formal teaching and real life experiences. On our journey we met some friends who memorized a poem each month. Marcus and Caroline decided they would like to try memorizing poems for the last three months of the school year. They had great success learning “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost and  “An Arbor Day Tree.” For the month of May they decided to each learn a poem from a book that belonged to their great-grandmother. I think she would have been proud.

Click to see Marcus

https://picasaweb.google.com/106377551954115454419/20130512?authkey=Gv1sRgCJOxmJy239H8ygE#5885864112813558946

Click to see Caroline

https://picasaweb.google.com/106377551954115454419/20130512?authkey=Gv1sRgCJOxmJy239H8ygE#5885856002269984178

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Good-bye Third Grade

  1. Grampa Eddie

    Hi Connie, Marc Caroline & Marcus,
    That was a beautiful post you had today… It brings tears to my eyes and I never met your grandma and great grandma.. I know she is so very proud of you all, and so are we.
    Love ya,
    Grampa Eddie

  2. Eddie & Mom

    This was very nice, Connie. Your grandma would be very proud of you, as well as of Caroline & Marcus. You are a great mother & teacher! I love you more than I can tell you. Mom

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

unpredictableperryscontinued

The Road Trip Continues

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

Turtle Tells

Fast-Paced, Slow Travel

Peel Outta Here

Fulltime RV Living Destinations

strangers in the earth

The adventures of a full-time RVing family

europeonvacation2013

The adventures continue...

Do More Than Exist

Don't just dream. Go! Do! Live!

Livin' Our Dash

roadtripping america

Arnold Adventures

roadtripping america

Gone With The Wynns

Gone With The Wynn’s is an unscripted tale of the quirky couple who traded in everyday life to satisfy their wear-out-your-shoes sense of adventure.

Modern Nomads

roadtripping america

roadtripping america

Nomadic Simplicity

Tales of a Wanderlusting Family

Long Long Way To Tipperary

Full time RV living

Newschool Nomads

roadtripping america

The Simpson Six

roadtripping america

Bright's Wheel Life

roadtripping america

The Journey Continues

roadtripping america

Wheeling It

Living the Fulltime RV Dream with 12 Paws, 40 Feet and the Open Road

