Ventura and the Channel Islands

When we left Rancho Oso we went down to the beach where we were parked for two days.

The tide was up when we arrived so we couldn’t swim in the waves, but as it got later the waves got better. I decided to go swimming. I just dove right in even though it was cold.  Once I got my head wet I ran out of the water. Everyone thought I should go back in, so I did. The water was actually a little warmer, but that is probably because my legs were already numb. After I dried off we drove to Neptunes Net, one of the best seafood places ever (even one of my favorite restaurants , the one who doesn’t like seafood). We went home when we finished and that night I fell asleep listening to the waves lapping at the beach.

The next morning I woke up and looked out my window. There was the beach! I jumped out of bed and went down to the beach.

Marcus and I played down on the beach for about an hour and then we drove to the Channel Islands visitor center. We learned about the Channel Islands and did the junior ranger program. We didn’t actually go to the Channel Islands because we would have had to plan a trip, but we could see them right from our camper.

We went home and played on the beach for the rest of the day. The next day we had to leave. In the morning Marcus and I played on the beach and then it was time to go. I had loved camping on the beach, but I was glad to go back to Acton to see our friends. -Cali

I just wanted to add that the place we stayed was called Emma Woods State Beach.  The are several places to stay along the ocean in Ventura, but this is our favorite.  There are no hook ups, but who notices when you have ocean breezes and such a great view.  We payed $40 a night plus $10 for the extra car. Not cheap, but well worth it in our opinion.  Connie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Ventura and the Channel Islands

  1. sammondw@EMBARQmail.com

    Wonderful place and even without hookups I would stay till the tanks were full. I remember hope cold that water is and I think you were very brave going all the way in (so did Art). I went mid thigh and my feet were numb. Great pictures and story Cali.

  2. Rick Garboden

    I have read your blog now for a couple of years. I want to say how amazed I am of the writing the kids are doing on it. My wife is a teacher and I have shared many that Cali has written and we are amazed at the quality of writing. Marcus does a great job also. Keep up the wonderful writing and congrats to the parents also for doing such a great job with the children as it shows.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. You really made my day. It means so much that you took the time to write to us. Cali really is improving her writing. Marcus has been writing more fiction stories which I hope to share on our blog as well. Thanks again. Connie

  3. Wow Cali! That sounds awesome! Wish I was there with you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

unpredictableperryscontinued

The Road Trip Continues

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

Turtle Tells

Fast-Paced, Slow Travel

Peel Outta Here

Fulltime RV Living Destinations

strangers in the earth

The adventures of a full-time RVing family

europeonvacation2013

The adventures continue...

Do More Than Exist

Don't just dream. Go! Do! Live!

Livin' Our Dash

roadtripping america

Arnold Adventures

roadtripping america

Gone With The Wynns

Gone With The Wynn’s is an unscripted tale of the quirky couple who traded in everyday life to satisfy their wear-out-your-shoes sense of adventure.

Modern Nomads

roadtripping america

roadtripping america

Nomadic Simplicity

Tales of a Wanderlusting Family

Long Long Way To Tipperary

Full time RV living

Newschool Nomads

roadtripping america

The Simpson Six

roadtripping america

Bright's Wheel Life

roadtripping america

The Journey Continues

roadtripping america

Wheeling It

Living the Fulltime RV Dream with 12 Paws, 40 Feet and the Open Road

